Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content


Key Stage 3 

Year 7

Students in Year 7 explore a range of topics examining key beliefs and practices in Christianity and Buddhism. Topics include: Christianity, Communities of Faith, The Parables of Jesus, Peace and Conflict, Buddhism and Diversity, Respect and Understanding. Students will tackle a range of subjects and discuss key concepts such as the meaning of faith, the importance of religious and cultural understanding, the nature of war and many others. Students are introduced to the foundation of Christian and Buddhist belief, and encouraged to question their own and others’ beliefs.

Year 8

Students in Year 8 build on the knowledge gained in the previous academic year and go on to evaluate and explore topics relevant to their own experience. Topics include: Worship and Celebration, Places of Pilgrimage, Hinduism, Sacred Earth, Judaism and the Holocaust. Students tackle challenging and thought-provoking concepts about the world and the way in which human beings act and interact within it.

Year 9

In Year 9 students continue the KS3 Curriculum, looking at topics such as Christian Teachings and Animal Rights, until Christmas, whereupon they begin studying the GCSE syllabus. 

Information for KS4 is also incorrect, as there is an entire two paragraphs about edexcel before the correct information regarding AQA appears. The following information for KS4 therefore needs to be removed: 

Students studying Religious Studies at GCSE level follow the Edexcel Exam Board Unit 2 and Unit 8 over the course of two years at the end of which students will sit two final exams in order to gain their GCSE qualification.

Unit 8

Unit 8: Religion and Society focuses on four key topics: Rights and Responsibilities, Environmental and Medical Issues, Peace and Conflict and Crime and Punishment. Each topic deals with a variety of different religious and ethical dilemmas such as abortion and euthanasia, genetic engineering, transplant surgery and capital punishment. Students will have to examine their own beliefs and values as well as the beliefs of both Christians and Muslims.

Unit 2

Unit 2: Christianity and Life, focuses on the following four topics: Believing in God, Matters of Life and Death, Marriage and the Family and Religion and Community Cohesion. Within each topic students will also have to watch and evaluate how key issues are portrayed in the media looking at films and television programmes such as Bruce Almighty, Just Married and Million Dollar Baby. Students will be given the opportunity to discuss key issues relevant to society today and to comment upon religious and secular viewpoints.

Examination Board: AQA


This course aims to give students the opportunity to:

  • Acquire knowledge and develop understanding of the key beliefs, teachings and practices of Christianity and Judaism
  • Consider the influence of beliefs, teachings and values on the lives of believers
  • Consider religious and other responses to moral, ethical and philosophical issues in the world today
  • Identify, investigate and respond to fundamental questions about life and meaning including questions about the nature of evil and suffering, life after death, peace and conflict, poverty and crime and punishment
  • Develop skills relevant to the study of religion, ethics and philosophy

Examination Levels:

This is a single tier examination

Course Requirements:

Students will sit two exams at the end of Year 11.

Paper One, which accounts for 50% of the grade, lasts for 1 hour 45 minutes

Paper Two, which accounts for 50% of students’ overall grades, last for 1 hour 45 minutes.

Content Studied:

The study of Christianity: beliefs, teachings and practices. The study of Judaism: beliefs, teachings and practices.