Physical Education

Physical Education

In Year 10 and Year 11 students will follow the BTEC Certificate course.

What is a BTEC Certificate?

A BTEC First Certificate is a practical, work-related course. You learn by completing projects and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands.

A BTEC First Certificate is equivalent to one GCSEs grade A* - C. The course is made up of two mandatory units that you have to follow.

What are the two core units?

Fitness Testing and Training
Practical Sport

Fitness Testing and Training

In this unit you will explore the essential fitness requirements and training methods used to achieve successful sports performance.

This will include both lifestyle and psychological factors and the effects these can have on sports training and performance.

You will investigate your own personal fitness levels by participating in a series of fitness tests.

Practical Sport

This unit focuses on developing and improving the your own practical sports performance in one team and one individual sport.

You will develop your understanding of the rules, skills and techniques and what your strengths and weaknesses are in each sport and what you could do to improve further.

How is the course assessed?

All units are assessed, and graded as either a pass, merit or distinction. Then an overall grade for the qualification is awarded.

What can I do at the end of the course?

With further training or study, students go into careers in:

  • Sports Centres
  • Leisure Centres
  • Outdoor Activities Centres.

A BTEC prepares you for employment and provides a good grounding to go on to a more advanced courses at college.